IT SOUNDED BETTER IN MY HEAD – Nina Kenwood (Honest Review)

Genre: Young Adult – Contemporary
Target Audience: 14+
Rating: A (90%)
Goodreads Rating: 5/5

GOODREADS DESCRIPTION:
A tender, funny, and joyful novel about longing, confusion, feeling left out, and finding out what really matters, and first love, perfect for fans of Emergency Contact.
Eighteen year-old Natalie has suffered every adolescent indignity when her parents announce their impending divorce. She can’t understand why no one is fighting, or seems at least mildly upset. Then Zach and Lucy, her two best (and only) friends, hook up, leaving Natalie feeling slightly miffed. It’s not the version of her life she’d always imagined — the version that played out like a TV show, with just the right amount of playful banter and meaningful looks. Then an unexpected romance shake things up even further. For Natalie, who’s never been kissed – never been on a date – everything is changing…

Before I say anything about this book, I want to say a massive thank you to Text Publishing for reaching out and offering me this opportunity. It’s been a wonderful experience representing Nina Kenwood’s book as a Social Media Ambassador. In saying that, I will be giving this book my completely honest opinion (which isn’t bad anyways, because I loved it).

Let’s get into the details!

My favourite part about this one is how relatable it is. It deals with body dysmorphia and anxiety. It deals with reality of life and how not everything is always going to go according to plan. It just felt so real.

It also helps that is was downright adorable!

I felt myself attach to his book as I read it, like the pages were gluing themselves to me. I could tell that this one wasn’t going to leave me anytime soon. Long after the final page was read, I found myself thinking back to it and how incredible it was.

I’m going to be honest, I went into this book thinking it could be another one of those unnecessarily dramatic books, but I have to be honest, the blurb is very different to the book. The parents’ divorce is only a tiny speck of this book, everything that happens in those pages truly encompasses what it’s like to be a teen, fresh out of school. How plans aren’t necessarily going to go according to plan, and how love can be hiding right around the corner.

I found the characters to be true to themselves, loyal, with their own opinion tucked up their sleeve. They weren’t 2D, they didn’t all agree with one another. They had their own past, present and idea of the future. They kept secrets and honestly, they all just felt so human.

I didn’t enter this one feeling like I loved it. I didn’t enter it with high hopes, but it dramatically picked up after the first few chapters. If you like Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell or I Have Lost My Way by Gayle Forman, then I highly recommend picking this one up.

The break down of my rating:
Plot: 
9/10
Characterisation: 9/10
Development:
10/10
Style & Tone: 9/10
Enjoyment Factor: 8/10

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s